كيف شنومكس٪ من الغذاء أمريكا ينتهي في سلة المهملات

جون أوليفر في "الأسبوع الماضي" ألقى الليلة مؤخرًا في صناعة المواد الغذائية بعد أن كشف النقاب عن مدى إسراف أميركا حقًا. يلقي الأميركيون ما يكفي من الطعام لملء ملاعب 730 لكرة القدم كل عام. هذا يعادل حوالي 1 / 3 من طعامنا! زادت الأرقام بنسبة 50٪ منذ 1970. ما يجعل هذا الأمر أشد حزناً هو أنه في 2013 ، كان ما يقرب من 50 مليون أمريكي يعيشون في أسر تعاني من انعدام الأمن الغذائي ، مما يعني أنهم في مرحلة ما من السنة كانوا يكافحون من أجل وضع الطعام على المائدة. ما الذي يحدث بالضبط لطعامنا وما هي العواقب المحتملة؟

الفنية لمنع النفايات الغذائية

النفايات الغذائية المساهمة في الاحترار العالمي

يذكر أوليفر أنه من السخف أن يضخّ المزارعون الماء في الطعام عندما يصبح هذا الطعام مقددًا لمدافن النفايات ، خاصة عندما تعاني ولاية كاليفورنيا من جفاف شديد. ما هو أكثر إثارة للخوف هو أن الخضروات الغذائية تجاهل والتحلل دون الهواء الطلق سوف تنتج الميثان. الميثان هو غاز دفيئة 20x أكثر فعالية من CO2 في حصر الحرارة. بإغراقنا للطعام الطازج في الأرض ، نساهم في الاحترار العالمي بطريقة كبيرة.

أفضل لآخر؟ لا عندما يأتي إلى الغذاء

النفايات الغذائية-جون-أوليفر-العضوية

يجب على المتاجر أن تكدس على رفوفها بشكل روتيني لأنهم إذا لم يفعلوا ذلك ، فلن يقوم العملاء بشراء المنتجات. يقول صاحب شركة للأغذية العضوية ، إنه إذا لم يقم بتخزين رفوفه بكميات كافية ، فلن يلتقط أحد آخر الخضروات. ولكن إذا خزن الصندوق بمزيد من الخضار ، فسوف تبيع أغلبيتهم. لماذا ا؟ يتعلق الأمر بعلم النفس لدى الناس وافتراضهم أن ما تبقى من الأشياء يجب أن يكون سيئًا أو على الأقل أسوأ من أولئك الذين سبقهم. هذا يؤدي إلى زيادة المخزون و نفايات هائلة. يظهر مقطع واحد في الفيديو عامل تفريغ النفايات يظهر جبل من الخضروات العضوية الصالحة للأكل تماما يجلس في القمامة. ويمكن أن يعزى ذلك إلى حقيقة أن هذه المبالغ لم يتم بيعها أو ربما سيناريو آخر أكثر احتمالا.

تنخدع تواريخ انتهاء الصلاحية

قضية رئيسية أخرى هي ملصقات تاريخ الغذاء. أبلغت نسبة 91٪ من المستهلكين عن طعام كان قد تجاوز تاريخ "البيع" بسبب مخاوف تتعلق بالسلامة. ومع ذلك ، فبينما يشرح الفيديو أن التاريخ لا معنى له ، فهو عادة ما يكون أفضل تخمين من جهة التصنيع عندما يكون المنتج على الأرجح هو الأفضل. في كثير من الأحيان ، سيكون لدى نفس الشركة ثلاثة أنواع مختلفة من التسميات لنفس المنتج بالضبط. وهي تشمل "البيع حسب" و "الأفضل" و "الاستخدام بواسطة". في حين أن بعض الشركات قد تحاول إضافتها كدليل لمساعدة العملاء فعليًا على منحهم فكرة عن المدة التي يكون فيها المنتج أصليًا ، يمكن للعديد منهم استخدام هذا كوسيلة بيع. تضطر المتاجر التي تحمل منتجات "منتهية الصلاحية" إلى تصفية المنتجات بأسعار منخفضة جدا أو تجاهلها تماما. ما هو أكثر إثارة للاهتمام هو أن الشركات لا تحتاج حتى لوضع ملصقات انتهاء الصلاحية على العبوة (باستثناء طعام الأطفال). الأمر متروك لتقدير الشركات المصنعة لاختيار هذه التواريخ ، لذلك فمن المنطقي أن تجعل هذه التواريخ ضيقة قدر الإمكان. لا تجد الشركات علامة على الكائنات المعدلة وراثيا على أنها مهمة ، ولكنها تجد أن أخذ وقت لخلط أو خداع المستهلكين هو جانب مهم إلى حد ما من الأعمال التجارية.

لا الخوخ اليسار وراء

لكن الطعام يضيع قبل أن يصل إلى أطباقنا أو حتى المتجر. إذا كانت بعض الأطعمة لا تفي بالمعايير الصارمة ولديها أصغر عيوب ، فإنها في معظم الأحيان لا تستحق حتى أن يحاول المزارع بيعها وأن تتركها وراءها. تمنع معايير تصنيف USDA كمية كبيرة من الطعام حتى الوصول إلى جزر الإنتاج. إن الخوخ الذي لا يضاهى بشكل جيد ولكنه خبيث لن يصل إلى الجزر ، وحتى لو حدث ذلك ، فليس من المرجح أن يستقبله أحد.

شنومكس الأشياء يمكنك القيام به لمنع النفايات الغذائية

بضع خطوات بسيطة هي ما يفصلنا حقا عن إضاعة ما يقرب من نصف طعامنا وإضاعة القليل إلى لا شيء.

1. لا تعيش حسب تواريخ انتهاء الصلاحية

بينما يجب عليك دائما فحص طعامنا قبل تناوله ، لا تدع حياتك تحكمها تواريخ انتهاء الصلاحية. استخدمها كدليل لمعرفة متى تكون أكثر حذراً. بعض المنتجات جيدة بشكل جيد بعد تواريخ انتهاء صلاحيتها ، لذلك لا ترمي المال في سلة المهملات. في كثير من الأحيان يكون من الممكن حتى أن تطلب من المدير خصمًا على هذه العناصر ، حيث من المرجح أن تنتهي في سلة المهملات. فرصة مثالية ل يدخر مال مع منع النفايات.

2. كن الحيلة

إذا كان بعض طعامك سيئًا قريبًا ، فاستخدم الحيلة. عن عمد العثور على وصفة تشمل هذا الطعام أو ببساطة مقبلات وتحسين القائمة. استخدم أيضًا حيلًا بسيطة لتجنب ترك الطعام خلفك. لا يمكن الحصول على ما تبقى من الكاتشب؟ أضف بضع قطرات من الماء ، حركه حولها ، ويجب أن يخرج المزيج بسهولة الآن. يمكنك استخدام خارقة بسيطة كهذه للحد من تأثيرك على البيئة.

3. إعادة النمو من قصاصات

تنمو-الخضار-من-قصاصات

هل تعلم أن العديد من الخضار والفواكه التي تشتري يمكن إعادة نمت؟ باستخدام بقايا الطعام يمكنك زرع العديد من الأطعمة لخلق العرض غير محدود الخاصة بك وتنمو أساسا المال. هذا يقلل من النفايات، وبينما قد يستغرق بعض الوقت، فإنه سيوفر لك المال كذلك.

4. تبرع

إذا كنت من رجال الأعمال أو حتى فرد واحد ويكون لها تكدس من المواد الغذائية التي سوف تذهب سيئة قريبا، والنظر في التبرع. كما ذكر جون أوليفر، كنت في الأساس محمية من قبل بيل إيمرسون قانون السامري جيدة، والتي تنص على أنه لا يمكن مقاضاتك إذا حدث شيء ما بعد التبرع بالطعام. الأفضل من ذلك ، ضع في اعتبارك استضافة حدث لعائلتك أو المحتاجين. سيعطي هذا نشاطك التجاري أو على الأقل يجعلك تشعر بالرضا ، وإطعام الآخرين ومنع النفايات.

5. السماد وإعادة التدوير

النفايات العضوية، المواد الغذائية السماد حد

لذلك كنت غير قادر على حفظ هذه المنتجات من سوء. حسنا لم تنته بعد. سماد أن النفايات يمكن أن توفر لحديقتك تربة غنية بالمغذيات وتحتاج في نفس الوقت إلى تقليل النفايات التي تملأ الأرض. كل ما تحتاجه هو composter وبعض النفايات الصديقة للسماد. أيضا، تأكد من إعادة تدوير أي مواد التعبئة والتغليف المناسبة التي غالبا ما تأتي مع البقالة الخاص بك.

6. متجر سمارت (لا تحتاج إلى شراء منتجات طازجة أو سلع منتهية الصلاحية لاحقاً)

عندما يتعلق الأمر بالإنتاج ، تسوقي الذكية. لا تكثر من منزلك مع العناصر التي تنتهي صلاحيتها بسرعة. إذا كنت تريد التأكد من أن منزلك يحتوي دائمًا على بعض الطعام فقط ، قم بتخزينه بعناصر ذات تواريخ انتهاء أطول ، مثل الأطعمة المعلبة (أو الأطعمة الخاصة بك).

7. كن رائدا

عندما ترى شيئًا متبقيًا على الرف ، لا تفترض أنه أمر سيئ تلقائيًا. اعطها التفتيش أولا. كن رائدا وانتقاء الخوخ الذي لن يفعله أي شخص آخر. سوف تكتشف أنه حتى الأطعمة التي تبدو غير مثالية يمكن أن تكون لذيذة تمامًا. على سبيل المثال ، هل تعلم أن الموز يمكن أن يكون أخضر ، أحمر ، بنفسجي وبني أيضًا؟ في حين أن التنميق الرقمي قد خدعنا في اتباع المعايير المستحيلة ، فإن منظمي الطعام قد فعلوا نفس الشيء مع طعامنا. ولكن إذا كان هناك طلب على الكمال ، فسوف يتبعه بالتأكيد العرض.

يمكنك مشاهدة الحلقة الكاملة لنفايات الطعام أدناه:

اقرأ أيضا:إعادة تدوير شنومكس: أين رمي بعيدا / إعادة تدوير الالكترونيات

عن المؤلف

العضوية

مصدر لذيذ للأخبار الشائعة ، وصفات صحية ، وأشرطة الفيديو ، وصفقات حول الأشياء العضوية.

Oh Snap!

Please turnoff your ad blocking mode for viewing your site content

img
Home / Live & Eat Healthy / Eating and Living Healthy Tips / How 40% of America’s Food Ends Up in the Trash

How 40% of America’s Food Ends Up in the Trash

John Oliver on Last Week Tonight recently made a splash in the food industry after he revealed on how wasteful America really is. Americans throw away enough food to fill 730 football stadiums every year. This is equivalent to about 1/3 of our food! The numbers have increased by 50% since 1970’s. What makes this sadder is that in 2013, nearly 50 million Americans lived in food-insecure households, meaning that at some point in the year they struggled to put food on the table. So what exactly happens to our food and what are the potential consequences?

how-to-prevent-food-waste

Food Waste Contributing to Global Warming

Oliver mentions that it’s silly for farmers to pump water into food when that food becomes garnish for landfills, especially when California is experiencing an extreme drought. What’s more frightening is that food vegetables discarded and decomposes without open air will produce methane. Methane is a greenhouse gas that is 20x more potent than CO2 in trapping heat. By dumping fresh food into the ground we are contributing to global warming in a big way.

Best For Last? Not When it Comes to Food

food-waste-john-oliver-organics

Stores have to routinely overstock their shelves because if they don’t, customers aren’t going to buy the products. The owner of an organic food company, tells the show that if he doesn’t stock his shelves with enough produce, no one will pick up the last veggie. But if he stocks the box with more veggies, majority of them will sell. Why? It has to do with psychology of people and their assumption that what is left over must be bad or at the very least worse, than those before. This leads to overstocking and tremendous waste. One segment in the video shows a dump waste worker showing a mountain of perfectly edible organic vegetables sitting in the dumpster. This could be due to the fact that these were unsold or perhaps another, more likely scenario.

Fooled by Expiration Dates

Another major issue is food date labels. A reported 91% of consumers have thrown out food that was past the “sell by” date because of safety concerns. However, as the video explains the date is meaningless as it’s usually just the best guess of the manufacturer on when a product will likely will be the freshest. Often times, the same company will have three different kinds of labels for the same exact product. They include “sell by”, “best by” and “use by”. While some companies may try to add these as a guide to actually help their customers to give them an idea of how long a product is pristine, many can use this as a selling tactic.Stores with “expired” products are forced to liquidate the products at very low prices or discard them altogether. What’s even more interesting is that the companies don’t even have to put expiration labels on the packaging (except on baby food). It’s up to the discretion of the manufacturers to choose these dates, so it only makes sense that they would make these dates as tight as possible. Companies don’t find labeling GMOs as important, but they do find that taking the time to confuse or trick the consumers is a somewhat important aspect of a business.

No Peach Left Behind

But food is wasted before it gets to our plates or even the store. If certain foods don’t meet the strict criteria and have even the tiniest of imperfections, most of the time they aren’t even worth the farmer trying to sell it and they are left behind. USDA grading standards prevent of a large amount of food even getting to the produce isles. A perfectly fine but misinformed peach would never make it to the isles, and even if it did, no one would be likely to pick it up.

10 Things You Can Do To Prevent Food Waste

A few simple steps is what really separates us from wasting nearly half our food and wasting little to none.

1. Don’t live by expiration dates

While you should always inspect our food before eating it, don’t let your life be ruled by expiration dates. Use them as a guide to know when to be more cautious. Some products are good well beyond their expiration dates, so don’t throw money into the trash. Often times it is even possible to ask a manager for a discount on these items, as they most likely will end up in the trash. Perfect chance to save money while preventing waste.

2. Be Resourceful

If some of your food is going bad soon, be resourceful. Purposely find a recipe that includes that food or simply garnish and improve an existing one. Also, use simple tricks to avoid leaving food behind. Can’t get the remainder of the ketchup out? Add a few drops of water, move it around, and the mixture should easily come out now. You can use simple hacks like this to limit your impact on the environment.

3. Re-Grow From Scraps

regrow-veggies-from-scraps

Did you know that many of the veggies and fruits that you buy can be re-grown? Using the leftovers you can plant many foods to create your own unlimited supply and essentially grow money. This cuts out waste and while it may take some time, it will save you money as well.

4. Donate

If you are a business or even a single individual and have an overstock of food that will go bad soon, consider donating. As mentioned by John Oliver, you are essentially protected by the Bill Emerson Good Samaritan Act, which states that you can’t be sued if something happens after you donate the food. Better yet, consider hosting an event for your family or those in need. It will give your business exposure or at the very least make you feel good, feed others and prevent waste.

5. Compost and Recycle

compost-limit-food-waste-organics

So you were unable to save that produce from going bad. Well it’s not over just yet. Composting that waste can provide your garden much needed nutrient-rich soil while reducing the waste that goes into land fills. All you need is a composter and some compost-friendly waste. Also, make sure to recycle any proper packaging materials that often come with your groceries.

6. Shop Smart (don’t overbuy fresh produce, stock later expiring items)

When it comes to produce, shop smart. Don’t overstock your home with items that will expire quickly. If you want to make sure your house always has some food just in case, stock it with items that have longer expiration dates, such as canned foods (or can your own food).

7. Be a Pioneer

When you see something left over on the shelf, don’t automatically assume it’s bad. Give it an inspection first. Be a pioneer and pick up the peach that no one else will. You’ll discover that even the imperfect looking foods can be perfectly delicious. For example, did you know that bananas can be green, red, purple and brown as well? While digital retouching has fooled us into following impossible standards, the food regulators have done the same with our food. But if there’s demand for the imperfect, surely supply will follow.

You can watch the full food waste episode below:

Also Read: Recycling 101: Where to Throw Away / Recycle Electronics

Looking for more awesomeness?

Join over 100,000 people who are getting awesome tips on how to eat healthier and live happier.