Bleached vs farine non blanchie

Si vous pensiez que toute la farine était la même, détrompez-vous. Beaucoup de gens savent que la farine blanche n'est pas bonne pour la santé. Cependant, la farine blanchie est encore pire. À un certain moment dans l'histoire, la farine moulue était toujours écrue. Cette farine de vieille école sort dans une couleur jaune pâle et il est vieilli pendant environ 12 semaines. Ce processus de vieillissement permet le développement des protéines et du gluten, ce qui le rend meilleur pour la cuisson. De plus, au cours de ce processus, la farine blanchit et devient plus blanche. Naturellement.

Cependant, nous sommes des gens impatients, nous voulons tout maintenant. Ainsi, dans le 1900 est venu un scientifique, qui a inventé un processus qui a permis de blanchir la farine dans les heures 48, au lieu de plusieurs mois. Et ainsi, (le processus chimique pour) la farine blanchie a été inventé.

Farine blanchie

Lorsque la farine blanchie a été introduite, elle était largement opposée. Le Dr Wiley était l'une des personnes qui s'y sont opposées. Il croyait que les aliments peuvent causer plus de mal que certains médicaments. Il a même porté l'affaire devant la Cour suprême, bien qu'ils aient statué en sa faveur (interdisant le blanchiment ou l'altération de la farine), elle n'a jamais été appliquée. FDA a été formé et l'accent s'est déplacé vers les médicaments. La farine blanchie a vécu.

Le problème avec la farine blanchie est que pendant le processus de blanchiment, un sous-produit appelé alloxan est produit. Alloxan est utilisé pour produire le diabète chez les animaux de laboratoire (rat et souris) afin qu'ils puissent étudier les traitements du diabète. La FDA permet toujours l'utilisation de procédés chimiques sans aliments produisant de l'alloxane. En outre, comme avec tous les aliments raffinés, beaucoup de nutriments sont perdus dans le processus. Il y a trop de nutriments perdus à énumérer, mais voici une petite partie:

  • La moitié des acides gras insaturés bénéfiques
  • Pratiquement toute la vitamine E
  • Cinquante pour cent du calcium
  • Soixante-dix pour cent du phosphore
  • Quatre-vingt pour cent du fer
  • Quatre-vingt dix huit pour cent du magnésium
  • Cinquante à 80 pour cent des vitamines B

Certains des agents de blanchiment utilisés dans le processus de blanchiment comprennent le dioxyde de chlore, le dioxyde d'azote, le chlore, le peroxyde de calcium, l'azodicarbonamide et le peroxyde de benzoyle. Les nutriments et les vitamines qui sont perdus au cours de ce processus de blanchiment sont ensuite souvent ajoutés et transformés en farine dite «enrichie». Cependant, la plupart des nutriments sont toujours manquants, et de très petites quantités sont réellement remplacées. Ces nutriments sont souvent ajoutés avec des additifs toxiques. Des obturations métalliques en fer ont été trouvées dans des produits «enrichis» et «enrichis».

Farine non blanchie

Lorsque vous regardez l'étiquette de votre farine et qu'elle n'est pas étiquetée comme blanchie ou écrue, elle est blanchie. Cependant, en raison du fait que les gens commencent à faire attention et à s'éduquer, la demande de bonne vieille farine non blanchie a augmenté. Si un produit est étiqueté «non blanchi», il n'a pas été blanchi chimiquement. La farine non blanchie fait un retour. La farine non blanchie contient plus de nutriments et est meilleure pour votre santé. Cependant, essayez de limiter votre consommation de farine blanche. Le blé contient du gluten et peut souvent contenir des pesticides, etc. L'USDA a trouvé 16 différents résidus de pesticides sur le blé.

Achetez de la farine biologique, non blanchie et non enrichie.

blanchi vs écru

Sources:

articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2009/03/26/The-Little-Known-Secrets-about-Bleached-Flour.aspx

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flour_bleaching_agent

http://www.whatsonmyfood.org/food.jsp?food=WF

A propos de l'auteur

Organics

Source délicieuse de nouvelles tendances, de recettes santé, de vidéos et de bonnes affaires sur les produits biologiques.

img
Home / Live & Eat Healthy / Eating and Living Healthy Tips / Bleached vs Unbleached Flour

Bleached vs Unbleached Flour

If you thought all flour was the same, think again. Many people know that white flour isn’t good for our health. However, bleached flour is even worse. At some point in history, milled flour was always unbleached. This old school flour comes out in a pale yellow color and it is aged for about 12 weeks. This aging process allows for the proteins and gluten develop, which makes it better for baking. Also, during this process, the flour bleaches and becomes whiter. Naturally.

However, we are impatient people, we want everything right now. So in the 1900’s along came some scientist, that invented a process which allowed to bleach the flour within 48 hours, instead of several months. And thus, (the chemical process for) bleached flour was invented.

Bleached Flour

When bleached flour was introduced, it was widely opposed. Dr. Wiley was one of the people that opposed it. He believed that foods can cause more harm than some drugs. He even took the matter to the supreme court, although they ruled in his favor (disallowing bleaching or altering of flour), it was never enforced. FDA was formed and the focus shifted to drugs. Bleached flour lived on.

The problem with bleached flour is that during the bleaching process, a byproduct called alloxan is produced. Alloxan is used to produce diabetes in lab animals (rat and mice) so they can study diabetes treatments. FDA still allows chemical processes to be used without food that produces alloxan. Also, as with any refined foods, A LOT of nutrients are lost in the process. There are too many lost nutrients to list, but here’s a small portion:

  • Half of the beneficial unsaturated fatty acids
  • Virtually all of the vitamin E
  • Fifty percent of the calcium
  • Seventy percent of the phosphorus
  • Eighty percent of the iron
  • Ninety eight percent of the magnesium
  • Fifty to 80 percent of the B vitamins

Some of the bleaching agents used in the bleaching process include Chlorine Dioxide, Nitrogen Dioxide, Chlorine, Calcium Peroxide, Azodicarbonamide, and Benzoyl Peroxide. The nutrients and vitamins that are lost during this bleaching process are then often added and made into what’s called “enriched” flour. However, most of the nutrients are still missing, and very little amounts are actually replaced. These nutrients are often added along with toxic additives. Metallic iron fillings have been found in “enriched” and “fortified” products.

Unbleached Flour

When you look at the label of your flour and it is not labeled as bleached or unbleached, it is bleached. However, due to people starting to pay attention and educating themselves, the demand for good old unbleached flour has increased. If a product is labeled as “unbleached” it has not been chemically bleached. Unbleached flour is making a comeback. Unbleached flour contains more nutrients and is better for your health. However, try to limit your intake of white flour. Wheat contains gluten and can often contain pesticides, etc. USDA found 16 different pesticide residues on wheat.

Buy organic, unbleached, unenriched flour.

bleached vs unbleached

Sources:

articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2009/03/26/The-Little-Known-Secrets-about-Bleached-Flour.aspx

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flour_bleaching_agent

http://www.whatsonmyfood.org/food.jsp?food=WF

Looking for more awesomeness?

Join over 100,000 people who are getting awesome tips on how to eat healthier and live happier.

  • Ruben

    Is USDA organic flour bleached?

  • David Kaufman

    “One of the possible minor side products of xantophyll oxidation is alloxan. It may therefore be found in small amounts in flour. There is no available research that shows trace amounts are a problem or that alloxan builds up in the body. The amounts, if present at all, must be small because xantophylls themselves only occur to the extent of 1 microgram per gram of flour.”
    One of your sources contained this paragraph. The source you used, used a source that essentially debufs your argument. Even if the bleaching agents do somehow react with the xantophylls, it is in a very tiny amount. As long as you aren’t eating three loafs of bread every hour every day of your life, the bleaching agent will not amount to any sort of diabetes.
    That being said, white flour naturally has no nutritional value and does pretty much turn to sugar in your body when you consume it. Always go with whole grain breads, those are the ones that still hold nutritional value and benefits.
    -Flour Milling Science Student at Kansas State