المجد النحل: الملقحات توفير الطريق الآن قانون الأرض

أخبار سارة للنحل والفراشات وغيرها من الملقحات: في ديسمبر 2015 ، عندما وقع الرئيس على قانون إصلاح النقل السطحي في أمريكا (FAST Act) [HR 22] ليصبح قانونًا ، شمل ذلك - للمرة الأولى على الإطلاق - نصًا يشجع موائل الملقحات على طول الأمة 17 مليون فدان من الطرق السريعة.

يوجه القسم 1415 من قانون FAST وزير النقل لتشجيع إدارات النقل في الولايات (DOTs) على استخدام ممارسات الإدارة المتكاملة للنباتات (IVM) على جوانب الطرق وغيرها من حقوق النقل. وتزيد هذه الممارسات من الزراعة المحلية ، وتقلل من استخدام المبيدات ، وتوفر واحة لمجموعة واسعة من الملقحات ، وتقلل من عمليات الحصر وغيرها من عمليات الصيانة ، إضافة إلى الحالات التي تعاني من ضائقة مالية. (في مشروع تجريبي ، تستخدم ولاية واشنطن - وهي رائدة في التلقيح الاصطناعي - الماعز للسيطرة على الأعشاب الضارة على طول الطرقات ، وقد وضعت "سياسة حصص منخفضة" تؤدي إلى مزيد من الأعشاب الطبيعية والأعشاب وتزيد من الأعلاف للملقحات.)

وتشجع الطرقات ذات التنوع الغني للنباتات المحلية الملقحات. لذلك يشجع القسم شنومكس أيضا الدولة دوتس لزراعة النباتات المزهرة المحلية والأعشاب، بما في ذلك الأنواع غير اللبن موسع الأصلي التي تعمل كمحطات طريقة الهجرة للفراشات وتسهيل هجرات الملقحات الأخرى. والدول المؤهلة على حد سواء مؤهلة للحصول على مساعدة مالية، وكذلك على الطرقات التي تديرها المقاطعات والبلديات.

تقول لوري ديفيز آدمز ، المديرة التنفيذية لـ: "إن هذا ليس مجرد نهج عملي لإدارة أفضل على جانب الطريق ، بل إنه له فوائد متعددة - توفير المال على القص ، والحد من البصمة الكربونية ، وزيادة النباتات التي تتحمل الجفاف والتي تحمل جوانب الطرق". شراكة الملقحات ، وهي منظمة غير ربحية تعمل على تعزيز صحة الملقحات من خلال الحفظ والتعليم والأبحاث. "كما أنه يخلق المزيد من المزارع" القائمة على المكان "، وبناء في الجمال الأصلي وإعطاء الطعام والمأوى للحيوانات الصغيرة التي تدعم أنظمتنا البيئية والزراعة. كل شخص يفوز ". عملت شراكة الملقحات لأكثر من 5 سنوات لجعل التشريع لزهرة.

ويستند القسم 1415 على HR-2738 على الطرق السريعة BEE قانون قدم في يونيو حزيران 2015 من قبل مندوبي جيف دنهام (R-CA) والسي L. هاستينغز (D-FL)، الرئيسان المشاركان للكونغرس حماية الملقحات تجمع (CP2C) . على منظمات 250 وعلماء 3,000 والمواطنون وقعوا عريضة دعما لقانون BEE. وحصلت السناتور كيرستن جيليبراند (ديمقراطي من نيويورك) على قانون لرصد التلقيح على أساس قانون النحل في مشروع القانون الذي أقره مجلس الشيوخ ، بينما حصل النائب دينهام على نفس اللغة في مشروع القانون الذي أقره مجلس النواب.

في الاحتفال بالقسم 1415 ، إليكم رؤية لما يمكن أن يبدو عليه كل طريق سريع في أمريكا. الجميع يفوز - رحيق للملقحات. الملقحات للمزارعين. الجمال الطبيعي لكل ركاب مسافر وسيارة نقل طويلة المدى على الطريق. والماعز والماعز الحلو. شكرا ، دولة صديقة الملقحات DOTs.

عن المؤلف

جوليا فانتين

جوليا فانتين يكتب عن الصحة ويميل لها حديقة حديقة الفناء الأمامي في مقاطعة بركس، بنسلفانيا.

Oh Snap!

Please turnoff your ad blocking mode for viewing your site content

img
Home / Causes / Glory Bee: Pollinator Highway Provision Now Law of the Land

Glory Bee: Pollinator Highway Provision Now Law of the Land

Good news for bees, butterflies, and other pollinators: In December 2015, when The President signed the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation Act (FAST Act) [H.R. 22] into law, it included—for the first time ever– a provision encouraging pollinator habitats along the nation’s 17 million acres of highway right-of-ways.

Section 1415 of the FAST Act directs the Secretary of Transportation to encourage state Departments of Transportation (DOTs) to use integrated vegetation management (IVM) practices on roadsides and other transportation rights-of-way. These practices increase native plantings, reduce pesticide use, provide an oasis for a wide variety of pollinators—and cut way down on mowing and other maintenance, a plus for cash-strapped states. (In a pilot project, Washington State—a trailblazer in IVF–is using goats to control weeds along roadsides, and has instituted a “reduced mowing policy” that results in more natural grasses and forbs and increased forage for pollinators.)

Roadsides with a rich diversity of native plants encourage pollinators. So Section 1415 also encourages state DOTs to plant native flowering plants and grasses, including noninvasive native milkweed species that serve as migratory way stations for butterflies and facilitate migrations of other pollinators. States that do both are eligible for funding assistance, as are roadsides managed by counties and municipalities.

“This is not only a practical approach to better roadside management, it has multiple benefits–saving money on mowing, reducing the carbon footprint, and increasing the drought tolerant-plants that hold roadsides in place,” says Laurie Davies Adams, executive director of the Pollinator Partnership, a nonprofit organization that promotes the health of pollinators through conservation, education, and research. “It also creates more ‘place-based’ plantings, building in native beauty and giving food and shelter to the mini-fauna that support our ecosystems and agriculture. Everybody wins.” Pollinator Partnership worked for over 5 years to bring the legislation to flower.

Section 1415 is based on H.R. 2738–the Highways BEE Act–introduced in June 2015 by Reps. Jeff Denham (R-CA) and Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), co-chairs of the Congressional Pollinator Protection Caucus (CP2C). Over 250 organizations and 3,000 scientists and citizens signed a petition in support of the BEE Act. Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) secured a pollinator roadsides provision based on the Bee Act in the Senate-passed bill, while Rep. Denham got the same language in the House-passed bill.

In celebration of Section 1415, here’s a vision of what every highway in America could look like. Everybody wins–nectar for pollinators; pollinators for farmers; natural beauty for every frazzled commuter and long-haul trucker on the road; and goats, sweet goats. Thanks, pollinator-friendly state DOTs.

Looking for more awesomeness?

Join over 100,000 people who are getting awesome tips on how to eat healthier and live happier.