كيف زيت النخيل هو إعادة تشكيل كوكبنا

في خضم ما أصبح واحدا من أكبر الخلافات في صناعة المواد الغذائية هو العنصر الطبيعي ويبدو بريئا - زيت النخيل. منذ سنوات ، سيطر زيت النخيل على الصناعة وهو الآن أكثر أنواع النفط إنتاجًا. طبيعتها تنوعا يسمح لها أن تستخدم في أي شيء من مستحضرات التجميل ومنتجات التنظيف والوقود حتى الآيس كريم الخاص بك. الجمع بين ذلك مع تكاليف التصنيع الرخيصة والثنائي هو ببساطة لا يقاوم بالنسبة للشركات الكبرى. إذن لماذا يشعر الناس بالغضب من استخدام هذا المكون في منتجاتهم والانتقال إلى البدائل؟

زيت النخيل يعيد تشكيل عالمنا

الاحترار العالمي هو واحد من أكبر القضايا جيلنا يواجه اليوم. والمثير للدهشة أن زيت النخيل يلعب دورا كبيرا فيه. البلدان التي تكافح مع الفساد مثل إندونيسيا، تقع فريسة للمال الكبير من الشركات الذين يرغبون في الحصول على هذا المنتج لرخيصة. تحتاج أشجار النخيل إلى الكثير من الأمطار والحرارة. مزيج مثالي الذي يوجد في الغابات المطيرة. لسوء الحظ، الغابات وأهم الحياة الموجودة داخل الغابات المطيرة تمثل حجر الطريق للشركات التي ترغب في بناء مزارع زيت النخيل.

الغابات المطيرة-إزالة الغابات اطلاق النار زيت النخيل

ومن خلال الرشوة وممارسة الضغط، تستطيع الشركات عقد اتفاقات لحرق قطع أراضي الغابات المطيرة بكاملها لإفساح المجال أمام أشجار النخيل. ليس فقط حياة جميلة دمرت لا رجعة فيه، والأبخرة من النار أنفسهم تمثل تهديدا كبيرا لكوكبنا. وتخدم الغابات المطيرة عادة دورا حيويا في امتصاص غازات الدفيئة وتعوض بعض البصمة الكربونية لكوكبنا. ومع ذلك، يتم إطلاق جميع هذه الانبعاثات الكربون في الغلاف الجوي في كل مرة واحدة عندما تشتعل الغابات النار. واحدة من هذه الحرائق يمكن أن تنتج المزيد من الكربون يوميامن اقتصاد الولايات المتحدة بأكمله.

أورانغوتان أمي في الصورة يائسة يمسك الطفل بعد البقاء على قيد الحياة حرائق الغابات. ودمرت الغابات ما يقرب من شنومكس٪ من بيئتها.

أورانغوتان أمي في الصورة يائسة يمسك الطفل بعد البقاء على قيد الحياة حرائق الغابات. حرائق الغابات دمرت ما يقرب من شنومكس٪ من بيئتهم.

في 1950 ، تم تغطية 15٪ من مساحة سطح الأرض بواسطة الغابات المطيرة. في أقل من سنوات 50 ، تم تدمير أكثر من نصف ذلك إما عن طريق النار أو بالمنشار. حول 200,000 يتم حرق فدان من الغابات المطيرة يوميا. سيتم حرق أكثر من 200 فدان عند الانتهاء من قراءة هذه المقالة. استخدام زيت النخيل غير المستدام هو تغيير المناظر الطبيعية والمناخ وتدمير الحياة البرية لدينا.

يمكن للمرء أن يصور نوعًا من الشخص الذي يحتاجه لإشعال النار في هذه المعجزة المذهلة للحياة والتي هي عبارة عن غابات مطيرة ، وتحرق كل شيء في الداخل. من غير المعقول أن نرتكب مثل هذا الفعل المروع. كثيرون سيصورون رئيس شرير من شركة أو مسؤول مرصوف يقفون هناك مع مباراة. ومع ذلك ، أنت كمستهلك عقد المباراة. كل قرار تتخذه في السوبر ماركت يساعد أو يزيد المشكلة سوءًا.

استخدام زيت النخيل زيادة مطردة

الاستخدام زيت النخيل خلال سنة

زيت النخيل وفيرة في إمدادات الغذاء لدينا. من حبوب الإفطار الخاصة بك، إلى الحلوى الآيس كريم لتناول العشاء، قد يكون زيت شجرة النخيل الكامنة في هناك في مكان ما. كما يوجد زيت النخيل في:

  • أحمر الشفاه
  • المكرونة سريعة التحضير
  • شامبو
  • مثلجات
  • منظف
  • شوكولاتة
  • سمن
  • خبز معبأ
  • صابون
  • وقود الديزل الحيوي
  • الملفات المؤقتة
  • عجينة البيتزا

أفضل رهان هو قراءة قائمة المكونات، أو إذا كنت غير متأكد البريد الإلكتروني الشركات أو اطلب من المطعم إذا كان هناك شيء يحتوي على زيت النخيل. ومع ذلك، وفقا لمؤسسة الحياة البرية العالمية، وأحيانا المنتجات التي تستخدم زيت النخيل قد تستخدم أسماء أخرى لذلك:

المكونات: الزيوت النباتية، الدهون النباتية، نواة النخيل، نواة النخيل النفط، زيت النخيل النخيل، بالماتيت، بالميتات، بالمولين، غليسيريل، ستيرات، حامض دهني، إلياس غينينسيس، حمض بالميتيك، بالم ستيرين، بالميتويل أوكسوستاراميد، بالميتويل تيتراببتيد-شنومكس، ، كبريتات لوريل الصوديوم، نواة الصوديوم، كرنيلات الصوديوم النخيل، الصوديوم لوريل لاكتيلات / كبريتات، هراتيد بالم غليسريدس، بالميتات إتيل، بالميتات أوكتيل، بالميتيل الكحول

يحتوي على: زيت النخيل

أفضل وأسوأ مستخدمي زيت النخيل

هناك طرق لاستخدام زيت النخيل بطريقة أكثر استدامة بيئيا ودية. تم إنشاء مشروع يسمى مجموعة أدوات شفافية زيت النخيل المستدامة أو سبوت في لندن من قبل جمعية الحيوان (زل) بهدف دفع الشركات نحو المنافسة من أجل الاستدامة عندما يتعلق الأمر بزيت النخيل. وهو يصنف الشركات على أساس مؤشرات الاستدامة الخاصة ب "شنومكس" في سبع فئات مختلفة، تشمل سياسة انبعاثات البيوت الخضراء، وقابلية سلسلة الإمداد، وحماية الغابات، والامتثال للمائدة المستديرة بشأن زيت النخيل المستدام (رسبو). كما أنها تمكن المجموعات الخضراء لمراقبة هذه الشركات للتأكد من أنها تمتثل لالتزاماتها والممارسات الآمنة. و سبوت هو وسيلة رائعة لمراقبة الشركات بدلا من كونها قائمة ثابتة، فمن الديناميكي و أوبديتابل. تساعد القائمة الشركات على تحديد المجالات التي يمكن أن تتحسن فيها وعندما يتم تمرير سياسات جديدة، فإن النظام يحسن درجاتهم.

spott-زيت النخيل الشركات الشفافية

اظهر الحجم الكلي

حتى الآن تقتصر القائمة على شركات 25 التي يتم مراقبتها من قبل ZSL ولديها فجوة كبيرة في التغطية لأنها تشمل فقط الشركات المدرجة في البورصة. ومع ذلك ، فهي بداية رائعة نحو الاستدامة وهي واحدة من أولى الشركات التي تقوم بتقييم منتجي زيت النخيل بطريقة صارمة. تستطيع معرفة المزيد عن سبوت هنا.

مورد آخر كبير هو ووف النخيل بطاقة الأداء النفط الذي معدلات شنومكس شركات مختلفة على استخدامها للزيت النخيل المستدام. هذه الأداة تسمح لك للبحث حسب البلد والشركة والقطاع.التحقق من ذلك هنا.

وفيما يلي أفضل وأسوأ مستخدمي زيت النخيل في الولايات المتحدة:

أفضل-أسوأ الشركات النخيل الاستخدام النفط

اظهر الحجم الكلي

بعض كبار تجار التجزئة في الولايات المتحدة مثل Dunkin 'Brands ، Safeway ، Kroger ، Cambell ، Target و Costco من بين أسوأ مستخدمي زيت النخيل. وتضعهم بطاقة النتائج على الالتزامات والإجراءات التي اتخذوها عندما يتعلق الأمر بالاستخدام المستدام لزيت النخيل. المعايير أقل صرامة من SPOTT ولكن لا تزال ترسم صورة جيدة عن ممارسات الشركة. الشركات 137 المدرجة في WWF هي الشركات المصنعة ، وشركات الخدمات الغذائية وتجار التجزئة. كمجموع ، فإن هذه النسبة تصل إلى 10٪ من استخدام زيت النخيل في العالم. ال أكبر الموردين من زيت النخيل إلى حد بعيد إندونيسيا وماليزيا.

الشفافية هي واحدة من مفاتيح تحويل الصناعات. ومع ذلك ، لا تعمل الشفافية وحدها ، إذا لم يتخذ المستهلكون أي إجراء.

كنت عقد المباراة

زيت النخيل يعيد تشكيل عالمنا. انها مسؤولة عن تدمير الغابات المطيرة والموائل ، ولكن الحقيقة هي ، يمكن استبدال زيت النخيل بسهولة. زيت النخيل ليس ضرورة للمستهلكين. بالنسبة إلى الشركات ، فإنها تمثل مدخرات ، ولكن إذا لم يكن هناك طلب مستهلك على المنتجات التي تنشئها ، فستزيلها الشركات من منتجاتها ، أو تستخدمها بشكل أكثر استدامة أو تبحث عن بديل. بدون أي طلب من الشركات ، فإن إزالة الغابات بسبب زيت النخيل سوف تستولي عليها.

والحقيقة هي أن المستهلكين لديهم القدرة على إيقاف زيت النخيل في مساراته. ببساطة عن طريق تجنب أي منتج بزيت النخيل فيه ، فأنت تساعد الحيوانات والبيئة وكوكبنا. يطالب الناس في جميع أنحاء العالم الشركات بالفعل بإخراج هذا المكون من منتجاتها. إذا كنت تحب منتجًا ، اطلب من إحدى الشركات إزالة هذا المكون من المنتجات التي تصنعها ولا تقاطعها حتى تقوم بذلك.

الاحترار العالمي حقيقي جدا ويؤثر علينا الآن. وكما ذكر الرئيس أوباما ، فإن الاحترار العالمي ليس قضية بيئية فحسب ، بل قضية أمن قومي. ستفقد دول الجزر في جميع أنحاء العالم منازلها لارتفاع مستويات البحار وسيتعين عليها البحث عن ملجأ في أماكن أخرى. أزمة اللاجئين السوريين هي انخفاض في الدلو مقارنة بما سيحدث نتيجة للاحترار العالمي. زيت النخيل هو بلا شك مساهم كبير في قضية الاحتباس الحراري. إنه ليس مجرد اتجاه آخر ، إنه شيء يؤثر على كل شخص حرفيا في هذا العالم. تذكر ، يمكنك عقد المباراة.

عن المؤلف

العضوية

مصدر لذيذ للأخبار الشائعة ، وصفات صحية ، وأشرطة الفيديو ، وصفقات حول الأشياء العضوية.

Causes Eating and Living Healthy Tips Live & Eat Healthy

How Palm Oil is Reshaping Our Planet

palm-oil-reshaping-world
Written by Organics

In midst of what’s becoming one of the biggest controversies in the food industry is a seemingly natural and innocent ingredient – palm oil. For years now, palm oil has dominated the industry and is now the most commonly produced type of oil. Its versatile nature allows it to be used in anything from cosmetics, cleaning products, fuels to even your ice cream. Combine that with its cheap manufacturing costs and it’s a duo that is simply irresistible for big corporations. So why are people outraged by the use of this ingredient in their products and moving to alternatives?

Palm Oil is Reshaping Our World

Global warming is one of the biggest issues our generation faces today. Surprisingly, palm oil plays a big part in it. Countries that struggle with corruption such as Indonesia, fall prey to the big money of corporations who want to get this product for cheap. Palm trees need lots of rain and heat. The perfect combination that is found in rainforests. Unfortunately, the forests and the most precious life that exists within rainforests represents a road block for the companies that want to build palm oil plantations.

rainforest-deforestation-fire-palm-oil

Through bribery and lobbying, corporations are able to make agreements to burn down entire plots of rainforests in order to make room for the palm trees. Not only the beautiful life is destroyed irreversably, the fumes from the fire themselves represent a huge threat to our planet. The rainforest typically serves a vital role in absorbing greenhouse gases and offsets some of our carbon footprint of our planet. However, all these carbon emissions are released into the atmosphere all at once when the forests catch fire. One of these fires can produce more carbon daily than the entire economy of United States.

Orangutan mom pictured desperately clutching baby after surviving forest fire . Forests destroyed nearly 80% of their habitat.

Orangutan mom pictured desperately clutching baby after surviving forest fire . Forest fires destroyed nearly 80% of their habitat.

In 1950’s, about 15% of all Earth’s land surface was covered by rainforests. In fewer than 50 years, more than half of that was destroyed by either fire or chainsaw. About 200,000 acres of rainforest are burned daily. More than 200 acres will be burned by the time you finish reading this article. Unsustainable palm oil use is changing our landscapes, climate and destroying our wildlife.

One can image a type of person it takes to set fire to this incredible miracle of life that are rainforests and knowingly burn down everything within. It’s almost inconceivable how such horrific act can be committed. Many would picture an evil boss from a corporation or a bribed official standing there with a match. However, you as the consumer hold the match. Every decision you make at the supermarket either helps or makes the problem much worse.

Palm Oil Use Steadily Increasing

palm-oil-use-over-years

Palm oil is abundant in our food supply. From your breakfast cereal, to an ice cream dessert for dinner, palm tree oil might be lurking in there somewhere. Palm oil is also found in:

  • Lipstick
  • Instant Noodles
  • Shampoo
  • Ice cream
  • Detergent
  • Chocolate
  • Margarine
  • Packaged Bread
  • Soap
  • Biodiesel
  • Cookies
  • Pizza Dough

Your best bet is to read the ingredient list, or if you are unsure e-mail the companies or ask the restaurant if something contains palm oil. However, according to World Wildlife Foundation, sometimes products that use palm oil may use other names for it:

INGREDIENTS: Vegetable Oil, Vegetable Fat, Palm Kernel, Palm Kernel Oil, Palm Fruit Oil, Palmate, Palmitate, Palmolein, Glyceryl, Stearate, Stearic Acid, Elaeis Guineensis, Palmitic Acid, Palm Stearine, Palmitoyl Oxostearamide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Kernelate, Sodium Palm Kernelate, Sodium Lauryl Lactylate/Sulphate, Hyrated Palm Glycerides, Etyl Palmitate, Octyl Palmitate, Palmityl Alcohol

CONTAINS: Palm oil

Best and Worst Palm Oil Users

There are ways to use palm oil in a more environmentally sustainable and friendly way. A project called Sustainable Palm Oil Transparency Toolkit or SPOTT, was created in London by the Zoological Society (ZSL) with an aim is to push companies towards competition for sustainability when it comes to palm oil. It rates companies based on 50 sustainability indicators in seven different categories, that include green house emissions policy, supply chain tracability, protection of forests, and compliance with Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO). It also enables green groups to monitor these companies to make sure they are complying with their comitments and safe practices. The SPOTT is a great way to monitor companies as rather than being a static list, it is dynamic and updateable. The list helps the companies identify areas where they can improve on and when new policies are passed, the system improves their score.

spott-palm-oil-companies-transparency

View Full Size

So far the list is limited to 25 companies monitored by ZSL and has a significant gap in coverage as it only includes publicly listed companies. However, it’s a great start towards sustainability and is one of the first to rate palm oil producers in a rigorous manner. You can learn more about SPOTT here.

Another great resource is the WWF Palm Oil Scorecard which rates 137 different companies on their use of sustainable palm oil. This tool allows you to search by country, company and sector.  Check it out here.

Here are the best and worst palm oil users in US:

best-worst-companies-palm-oil-use

View Full Size

Some of the biggest retailers in United States such as Dunkin’ Brands, Safeway, Kroger, Cambell’s, Target and Costco rank among the worst palm oil users. The scorecard rates them on the commitments and actions they have taken when it comes to the sustainable use of palm oil. The criteria is less stringent than SPOTT’s but still paints a good picture on company practices. The 137 companies listed on WWF are manufacturers, food service companies and retailers. As a collective they amount to 10% of world’s palm oil use. The biggest suppliers of palm oil by far are Indonesia and Malaysia.

Transparency is one of the keys to transforming the industries. However, transparency alone, does not work if consumers don’t take action.

You Hold The Match

Palm oil is reshaping our world. It’s responsible for destruction of rainforests and habitats, but the fact is, palm oil is easily replaceable. Palm oil is not a necessity for consumers. For businesses, it represents savings but if there’s no consumer demand for the products it creates, the businesses will remove it from their products, use it more sustainably or find an alternative. Without any demand from corporations, deforestation due to palm oil would seize.

The fact is, consumers have the power to stop palm oil in its tracks. By simply avoiding any product with palm oil in it, you are helping animals, the environment and our planet. People around the world are already demanding companies to get this ingredient out of their products. If you love a product, ask a company to remove this ingredient from the products they manufacture and don’t boycott them until they do.

Global warming is very real and it is affecting us right now. As President Obama mentioned, global warming is not only an environmental issue but also a national security issue. Island nations around the world will lose their homes to rising sea levels and will have to look for shelter elsewhere. The Syrian refugee crisis is a drop in the bucket compared on what’s to come as a result of global warming. Palm oil is indisputably a big contributor to the issue of global warming. It’s not just another trend, it’s something that affects literally every single person in this world.  Remember, you hold the match.

 

(Visited 1,716 times, 1 visits today)

About the author

Organics

A community living life the way nature intended.

For more awesomeness delivered fresh to you:
Follow our page

Subscribe

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This