بيتا هو الاستثمار في الشركات مثل سيوورلد

من المعروف أن الأشخاص الذين يتعاملون مع العلاج الأخلاقي للحيوانات (PETA) معروفون منذ وقت طويل بموقفهم ضد الشركات التي تسيء إلى الحيوانات. لقد تحدثوا علنًا ضد ماكدونالدز بسبب سوء معاملتها للحيوانات المرباة للحوم. SeaWorld لهذا العلاج غير الأخلاقي وسبي الحيوانات. في الآونة الأخيرة ، حتى لولو ليمون لبيع السترات الواقية التي تم الحصول على الريش على ما يبدو من خلال نتف لهم من الطيور الحية. ومع ذلك ، فإن استثمارات شركة بيتا في الأسهم تروي قصة مختلفة ، حيث تشمل استثماراتها الأخيرة ماكدونالدز وسي وورلد ولولو ليمون. ولكن قبل أن تسحب شعرك وتخرج من PETA ، هناك سبب جيد وراء استراتيجيتهم.

احتجاج بيتا في ماكدونالدز

احتجاج بيتا في ماكدونالدز

السبب وراء استثمارات بيتا

فهل يستثمرون في كل شيء يقفون ضده؟ كل ذلك يكمن في اللوائح داخل الشركات. لكي تكون مؤهلاً لتقديم اقتراح إلى شركة ، يحتاج المرء إلى الحصول على 2,000 دولار في القيمة السوقية في أسهمه أو ملكية 1٪ للشركة. في محاولة لتغيير سياسات الشركة ومنعها من إيذاء الحيوانات ، اكتسبت PETA الحد الأدنى من الملكية لتقديم المقترحات والتحدث ضد الممارسات الضارة. لقد تم استخدام هذه الاستراتيجية منذ 1987. في حين أن هذا ليس تماما "إذا كنت لا تستطيع التغلب عليهم ، والانضمام إليهم" ، فإنه لا يزال نهج إلى الوراء إلى ما اعتدنا أن نرى اليوم. ومع ذلك ، فمن المنطقي ، حيث تميل الشركات فقط إلى الاستماع إلى حيث توجد الأموال المعنية في نهاية السطر.

يقول اختصاصي شؤون الشركة في شركة PETA: "نحن نختار العمل كمساهم فقط حسب الضرورة ، إذا لم تكن الشركة تقدمًا بشأن قضايا رفاهية الحيوانات". في حين أن العملاء الذين يربطون معاً ومنتجات المقاطعة غالباً ما يكونون أكثر عاطفية ، إلا أنها لا تعمل دائمًا. قد تظل الشركات ملتزمة بممارساتها الحالية ، حيث قد لا تزال هذه الشركات تحقق أرباحًا أكثر من تغيير طرقها أو حتى فقدان قاعدة عملاء معينة.

يتحدث كيلي سلاتر ، أحد أفضل متصفحي العالم نيابة عن شركة PETA.

أنها استثمرت لأول مرة في سيوورلد في شنومك واستثمرت في ذلك مرة أخرى في شنومكس للحفاظ على الحد الأدنى من متطلبات الملكية، حيث انخفضت الأسهم على شنومك٪ منذ ذلك الحين. في حين أن بيتا غالبا ما تشتري هذه الأسهم نفسها، وأحيانا يتم التبرع بها من قبل أعضائها. مؤخرا، أسطورة سيرفر كيلي سلاتر انضمت إلى الاحتجاجات ضد سي وورلد وقدمت بيانا نيابة عن بيتا.

حتى الآن، وقد استثمرت بيتا في أكثر من شركات شنومكس تتراوح بين المواد الغذائية وتجارة التجزئة والأدوية والتكنولوجيا الحيوية. جزء من تكتيكاتهم هو تقديم الوصف الجرافيكي مع أسئلتهم والقرارات من أجل تثقيف المساهمين والإدارة. وقد كانت هذه تقنية عاطفية جدا وفقا لممثلهم، ستيفاني شو، الذي يقول لديهم نشاط المساهمين منذ فترة طويلة مع شركات مثل ماكدونالدز.

في انتصار الأخير، وقد توقفت بيتا اختبار الحيوانات لمستحضرات التجميل في الهند. وهي الآن الدولة الثانية بعد قيام إسرائيل بذلك.

في انتصار الأخير، وقد توقفت بيتا اختبار الحيوانات لمستحضرات التجميل في الهند. وهي الآن الدولة الثانية بعد قيام إسرائيل بذلك.

لماذا تستمع الشركات؟

فلماذا يستمع عمالقة الشركات لشركة PETA ، وهي منظمة سحبت كل واحدة من هذه الشركات من خلال الوحل في الماضي؟ حسنا ، جزئيا لأنهم مضطرون إلى ذلك. عليهم أن ينظروا في كل اقتراح قادم من كل مساهم مؤهل. أيضا ، لأن PETA يمثل مجموعة كبيرة من الناس الذين تكمن مصالحهم في رعاية الحيوانات. شركات مثل Chipotle على سبيل المثال ، والتي أعلنت مؤخرا أنها تحظر الكائنات المعدلة وراثيا من مكوناتها ، شهدت طفرة في أسعار الأسهم والأرباح. تصور العملاء وإعطاء الناس ما يريدون يمكن أن يجعل أو ينهار الشركة. في حين أن هذا النهج "إذا كنت تريد التغلب عليهم ، والانضمام إليهم" لا يبدو مبهجًا بشكل مفرط ، فإنه شر ضروري لتشجيع التغيير من الداخل. عندما تجد الشركات ثغرات للتهرب من الضرائب ، أو بيع المكونات الضارة ، أو إساءة استخدام الحيوانات ، يجب على الأخيار إيجاد ثغرات وطرق مبتكرة لمكافحتها. قال غاندي: "أفضل تغيير تريد أن تراه في العالم" ، وأي طريقة أفضل للقيام بذلك ، ثم الانتقال إلى منطقة العدو وإظهارها وإرشادها إلى حلول فعالة.

عن المؤلف

العضوية

مصدر لذيذ للأخبار الشائعة ، وصفات صحية ، وأشرطة الفيديو ، وصفقات حول الأشياء العضوية.

Live Greener The World

PETA Is Investing in Companies Like SeaWorld

peta
Written by Organics

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) has been long known for taking a stance against companies who abuse animals. They have publicly spoken out against McDonald’s for its mistreatment of the animals raised for meat; SeaWorld for this unethical treatment and captivity of animals; Most recently, even LuluLemon for selling down jackets whose feathers were apparently obtained by plucking them from live birds. However, PETA investments in stocks tell a different story as their recent investments include – McDonald’s, SeaWorld and LuluLemon. But before you pull your hair out and give up on PETA, there’s a very good reason behind their strategy.

Peta's Protest at McDonald's

Peta’s Protest at McDonald’s

Reason Behind PETA’s Investments

So are they investing into everything they stand against? It all lies in regulations within companies. To be eligible to submit a proposal to a company, one needs to have $2,000 in market value in their stock or 1% ownership of the company. In an effort to change company policies and stop them from harming animals, PETA has been gaining minimal ownership to submit proposals and speak out against harmful practices. They have been using this strategy since 1987. While this is not quite “if you can’t beat them, join them”, it is still a very backwards approach to what we’re used to seeing today. However, it makes sense, as companies tend only to listen where there’s money involved at the end of the line.

Corporate affairs specialist for PETA says, “We choose to act as a shareholder only as necessary, if the company is not making forward progress on animal welfare issues”. While customers banding together and boycotting products are often most affective, it doesn’t always work. Companies may still stick to their current practices as those may still produce more profit than changing their ways or even losing that specific customer base.

Kelly Slater, one of world’s best surfers speaks out on behalf of PETA.

They first invested in SeaWorld in 2013 and invested in it again in 2014 to maintain the minimum ownership requirements, as shares dipped over 39% since then. While PETA often buys these shares themselves, sometimes they are donated by their members. Just recently, surfer legend Kelly Slater has joined the protests against SeaWorld and submitted a statement on behalf of PETA.

To date, PETA has invested in over 70 companies ranging from food, retail, pharmaceutical and biotechnology. Part of their tactics is to submit graphic descriptions with their questions and resolutions in order to educate the shareholders and the management. This has been a very affective technique according to their representative, Stephanie Shaw, who says they have a long standing shareholder activism with companies like McDonalds.

In a recent victory, PETA has stopped animal testing for cosmetics in India. It is now the second nation after Israel to do so.

In a recent victory, PETA has stopped animal testing for cosmetics in India. It is now the second nation after Israel to do so.

Why Are Companies Listening?

So why would corporate giants listen to PETA, a organization who has dragged each one of these companies through the mud in the past? Well, partly because they have to. They have to consider each proposal coming in from each qualifying shareholder. Also, because PETA represents a huge community of people whose interests lie in welfare of animals. Companies like Chipotle for example, who recently announced that they are banning GMOs from their ingredients, have seen a surge in their stock prices and profits. Customer perception and giving people what they want can make or break a company. While this “if you want to beat them, join them” approach doesn’t seem overly pleasing, it’s a necessary evil to encourage change from within. As corporations find loopholes to evade taxes, sell harmful ingredients, or abuse animals, the good guys need to find loopholes and creative ways to combat them. Ghandi said it best, “be the change you want to see in the world” and what better way to do it then to step right into the enemy territory and show and guide them to effective solutions.

Incoming search terms:

  • what is peta investments
(Visited 558 times, 1 visits today)

About the author

Organics

A community living life the way nature intended.

For more awesomeness delivered fresh to you:
Follow our page

Subscribe

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This