لماذا هو ثمن الغذاء الصحي حتى لعنة عالية؟

رقم واحد يعذر الناس على عدم شراء الغذاء الصحي هو أنه مكلف. بعد كل شيء ، لماذا لا تختارون أغذية أكثر مغذية وأعلى جودة خلاف ذلك؟ بالنسبة لكثير من الناس ، يبدو متجر Whole Foods ، ومخازن الأغذية الصحية المماثلة ، مثل نوادي الجولف التي لا يمكن الوصول إليها إلا للأثرياء. مراراً وتكراراً ، الغضب الشعبي هو: لماذا الغذاء الصحي باهظ الثمن؟؟ ومع ذلك ، لا يقتصر الأمر على أن الغذاء الصحي ليس مكلفًا كما تعتقد ، بل أنك تطرح أيضًا سؤالًا خاطئًا. هنا لماذا.

العضوية ومقابل-رخيصة الغذاء

دعونا نتخيل أنك تقوم بشراء منزل. سترى قوائم لمنزلين ، واحد هو المنزل A والآخر هو المنزل B. تكاليف المنزل X $ 75,000 ، في حين أن المنزل B هو ضخم جدا $ 275,000. هم في نفس المكان بالضبط ، لذا فأنت تسأل نفسك ، من في العالم سيشتري المنزل ب؟ حسنًا ، لقد تم بناء المنزل B من قِبل مقاولين محترفين كانوا يعملون في هذا المجال خلال سنوات 50. لقد استخدموا مواد من الدرجة الأولى والتي سوف تستمر لأكثر من قرن من الزمان. يأتي المنزل أيضا مع مسبح وحوض استحمام ساخن وملعب للأطفال. ماذا عن المنزل أ؟ تم بناء House A من قبل مقاولين من Craigslist ، مع وضع الهدف في الاعتبار لبناء أكبر عدد ممكن من المنازل بأقل قدر ممكن. ستبدأ المواد المستخدمة في تآكل هيكل المنزل تدريجيا شيئا فشيئا ، حتى يصبح المنزل في حالة حرجة في غضون بضع سنوات. وبطبيعة الحال ، لا يتم تضمين وسائل الراحة مثل تجمع. كلاهما يخدم وظيفة المنزل ، لكنهما مختلفان تمامًا. يوفر المنزل "أ" وفورات فورية ، ولكن فقط أثناء التضحية بالمكونات المهمة ، وفي المدى الطويل ، سينتهي الأمر بتكلفتك أكثر.

نفس المعضلة بالضبط تواجه الناس في السوبر ماركت كل يوم. يجب عليك شراء الحبوب A أو B؟ يجب عليك شراء الخبز أ أو ب؟ هم من الناحية الفنية على حد سواء نفس النوع من المنتج ويمكن أن يكون أرخص نسخة من السعرات الحرارية حتى أكثر. إذاً ، من يدفع في عقله الصحيح مبلغًا إضافيًا مقابل 2 مقابل الخبز العضوي؟ ولكن كمثال المنزل ، فإن صانعي الخبز الأرخص قد يستخدمون مكونات أقل جودة ، ولديهم زوايا قطع من أجل حيواناتنا وبيئتنا ، واشترى عبوات أرخص وأكثر من ذلك. بالطبع ، هذا ليس صحيحا في كل حالة ، والمنتج الأكثر تكلفة لا يعني دائما جودة أعلى. لكن الكثير من الوقت يفعل.

ربما تتناقض الدراسات السابقة التي أجريت في الماضي على الفور مع وجهة نظرنا وتظهر أن الأطعمة الرخيصة يمكن أن تغذي الناس بشكل أفضل مقابل أقل. لكن "الأفضل" هو المكان الذي أخطأت فيه الكثير من الدراسات السابقة. استخدموا السعر لكل سعر حراري ، والذي لا يعكس بدقة مفهوم "الأفضل". إنها نفس طريقة استخدام سعر القدم المربع في مثال بيتنا. لا يعكس بدقة ما تحصل عليه فعليًا مقابل أموالك. باستخدام هذه النتائج الخاطئة ، حفرت وسائل الإعلام الرئيسية في رؤوسنا أن الغذاء الصحي كان مكلفًا للغاية وأنه خلق حواجز لأشخاص عاديين يرغبون في تناول طعام صحي. ولم يكن الأمر صعبًا ، لأن أي شخص يمشي على متجر Whole Foods أو متجرًا عاديًا ويرى خيارًا أكثر صحة ، يمكنه أن يرى أسعارًا أعلى بكثير من نظرائه.

لماذا النظر في الاقتصاد الغذائي

لكن لم يكن الجميع ساذجين. جاء اثنان من الناس - أتواتر وميلنر - وأظهروا أن هناك أشياء أكثر أهمية من مجرد السعرات الحرارية والسعر الذي يجب مراعاته. كلاهما يعتبر الاقتصاد الغذائي للغذاء. أساسا ، أن مصدر رخيص من السعرات الحرارية قد يكون في الواقع مصدرا أغلى من المواد الغذائية الأخرى. من ناحية أخرى ، قد يكون عنصر غذائي مرتفع الثمن مصدراً رخيصاً لتلك المغذيات نفسها. يبدو وكأنه مفهوم بسيط ، ولكن حتى اليوم ، يفشل الناس في اعتبار القيمة الغذائية للأصناف التي يشترونها.

التغذية اقتصاد من الغذاء

عندما أجرت وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية دراسة أكثر من شنومكس المواد الغذائيةلم يجدوا أي دليل على أن الأطعمة الصحية أغلى من الأطعمة الصحية الأقل. ووجد الباحثون أيضًا أن "الخضار والفاكهة ، عند قياسها على أساس الوزن الصالح للأكل أو متوسط ​​الحجم ، تكون أقل تكلفة من معظم منتجات الألبان والبروتين والأطعمة المعتدلة". الذي يحطم أسطورة أن الخضروات والفواكه باهظة الثمن للغاية.

الغذاء الرخيص هو دائما جذابة

وهناك حقيقة أخرى يفشل الكثيرون في التفكير فيها عند الحديث عن أسعار الغذاء هو التضخم. أنت تسمع باستمرار "الغاز المستخدم ليكون ربع رغيف الخبز 5! هذه الأسعار الجديدة مجنونة! ولكن هناك القليل جدًا لهذا المنطق عندما لم يكن الناس ينتجون 54,000 دولارًا سنويًا (وفقًا لتعداد 2014) في ذلك الوقت. انخفضت قيمة الدولار بسبب التضخم كل عام تقريبا ، مما جعل أسعار جميع المنتجات ترتفع. ترك هذا الارتفاع في الأسعار فجوة كبيرة بين الأطعمة الصحية وغير الصحية.

فكر في الأمر. لنفترض أن علبة من الحبوب المتعفنة كانت تُستخدم لتكلف سنت 50 في وقت ما ، بينما كان صندوق الحبوب ذات الجودة الأعلى هو 2.50 دولارًا. بسبب التضخم ، زادت تكاليف الإنتاج والمكونات لكليهما. ومع ذلك ، فقد خفض المنتج الرخيص كل زاوية للوصول إلى السعر المنخفض بالفعل لسنت 50. فهي تستخدم الإنتاج الضخم ، وأرخص المكونات ، والتعبئة منخفضة الجودة ولديها صفقات مع الشركات الكبرى. أساسا ، شعارهم هو الكمية على الجودة. في حين أن تكاليفها قد تقفز ، فإنها لن تكون كبيرة. ولكن دعنا نقول أنها تقفز ، كما أنها تريد الاستفادة من الزيادة العالمية في الأسعار ، وتباع سعر حبوبها في سنت 65 الآن. لنأخذ الخيار الصحي الآن. ربما لديهم صفقات مع المزارع المحلية لدعم الاقتصاد المحلي ، ويستخدمون بالفعل أفضل المكونات جودة وتكاليف التغليف مرتفعة لأنها تستخدم نوعية جيدة من البلاستيك. بمجرد أن يصل التضخم ، فإن هذا النوع من الأعمال سوف يتأثر أكثر بكثير. ولكن من أجل الجدل ، دعنا نقول أنهم تمكنوا من التعامل معه إلى حد ما وزادوا سعر منتجاتهم إلى $ 3.00 فقط.

يدخل أحد العملاء إلى وول مارت لشراء الحبوب لأطفالهم. يرون أن كل شيء في المتجر أصبح أكثر تكلفة. يرون أن الحبوب كربي هو 65 سنتا الآن ، والتي لا تزال رخيصة الرتق جدا. ومع ذلك ، فإن الحبوب ذات النوعية الجيدة أصبحت الآن $ 3! أطلقت الشركة نفسها بشكل أساسي على ساقها. وبالطبع سيحصل العميل على الحبوب الأرخص لأنها ليست سوى 65 سنتا. "من الواضح" أن الشركة ترغب في مساعدتها في الأوقات الصعبة ، في حين تحاول الشركة الأخرى مزقتها.

لكن دعنا نلقي نظرة على الأرقام مرة أخرى.

الحبوب المقدّمة $ 0.50 -> $ 0.65 = زيادة 30٪ في السعر.

الحبوب الصحية $ 2.50 -> $ 3.00 = 20٪ الزيادة في السعر.

لذلك، كان للحبوب الصحية زيادة أصغر في السعر، ولكن التكلفة المتصورة للعميل العادي تبدو أعلى كلما قفزت من رقم شنومكس إلى شنومكس. وفي الوقت نفسه، أي شيء تحت الدولار وزيادة قدرها بضعة سنتات فقط يبدو أقل. بعد كل شيء، سنت شمكس أقل من شنومكس. هذا هو السبب في أن هذه المنتجات ذات جودة رخيصة تبدو أكثر جاذبية خلال أوقات التضخم. يصبح من الصعب على نحو متزايد لتبرير دفع أكثر للمنتجات الصحية.

ومع ذلك، إذا كنت تأخذ في الاعتبار الاقتصاد الغذائي المذكورة أعلاه، ينبغي أن يكون القرار أسهل.

اسأل السؤال الصحيح

هذا يقودنا إلى النقطة الثالثة والأخيرة. عندما تسأل "لماذا يكون سعر الغذاء الصحي عالٍ جدًا؟" فأنت تطرح سؤالًا خاطئًا. بدلا من ذلك ، اسأل "لماذا سعر الغذاء غير الصحي حتى رخيصة؟". ليس فقط أنها ليست رخيصة كما هو موضح في الأمثلة المذكورة أعلاه ، كما أنها تضر جسمك على المدى الطويل. يمكن جعل مصادر السعرات الحرارية الرخيصة مثل الخبز الأبيض مع المكونات المكررة وتحتوي على مواد مضافة ضارة. يمكن أن يسرق جسمك من المواد الغذائية الحيوية وعلى مر الزمن - يضر صحتك. لا تفترض أن العناصر الأكثر تكلفة أو العضوية هي أفضل حالًا على الفور ، ولكن لا تفترض أيضًا أن المنتجات الصحية أكثر تكلفة في الواقع. جسمك سيارة رياضية قوية بشكل لا يصدق ، تعاملها كأنها واحدة ، وسوف تقود السيارة مثل واحدة.

عن المؤلف

العضوية

مصدر لذيذ للأخبار الشائعة ، وصفات صحية ، وأشرطة الفيديو ، وصفقات حول الأشياء العضوية.

Oh Snap!

Please turnoff your ad blocking mode for viewing your site content

img
Home / Live & Eat Healthy / Eating and Living Healthy Tips / Why is The Price of Healthy Food So Damn High?

Why is The Price of Healthy Food So Damn High?

The number one excuse people give for not buying healthy food is that it’s expensive. After all, why wouldn’t you opt for more nutritious and higher quality food otherwise? For many people, Whole Foods, and similar health food stores, seem like a golf clubs that are only accessible to the wealthy. Over and over again, the public outcry is: why is healthy food so expensive? However, not only is healthy food not as expensive as you think, you are also asking the wrong question. Here’s why.

organic-vs-cheap-food

Let’s imagine that you are buying a house. You see listings for two houses, one is house A and the other one is house B. House A costs $75,000, while house B is a whopping $275,000. They are in the same exact location, so you’re asking yourself, who in the world would buy house B? Well you see, house B was built by professional contractors that have been in the business for well over 50 years. They have used top grade materials which will last over a century. The house also comes with a pool, hot tub and a playground for the kids. So what about house A? House A was built by contractors from Craigslist, with the goal in mind to build as many houses as possible for as little as possible. The materials used will start eroding home structure away little by little, until the home is in critical shape within a few years. And of course, no amenities like the pool are included. They both serve the function of a home, but they are totally different. House A offers immediate savings but only while sacrificing crucial components, and in the long run, it will end up costing you more.

The same exact dilemma faces people in the supermarket every day. Should you buy cereal A or B? Should you buy bread A or B? They are technically both the same kind of product and the cheaper version may even have more calories. So who in their right mind would pay $2 extra for organic bread? But just as the house example, the makers of the cheaper bread may have used lower quality ingredients, have cut corners for the sake our animals and environment, bought cheaper packaging and more. Of course, this is not true in every case and a more expensive product doesn’t always mean higher quality. But a lot of the time it does.

Previous studies done in the past would probably immediately contradict our point and show that cheaper foods can feed people better for less. But “better” is where a lot of the past studies went wrong. They used price per calorie, which doesn’t accurately reflect the “better” concept. It’s the same as using price per square foot in our house example. It doesn’t accurately reflect in what you’re actually getting for your money. Using these false results, mainstream media drilled it into our heads that healthy food was just too expensive and that it created barriers for typical people who wanted to eat healthy. And it wasn’t hard, as anyone who walks into Whole Foods or just a regular store and sees a healthier option, can see prices that are much higher than that of their counterparts.

Why Consider Nutritional Economy

But not everyone was so naive. Two fellas – Atwater and Milner – came along and showed that there are more important things than just calories and price to consider. They both considered the nutritional economy of food. Essentially, that a cheap source of calories may actually be a more expensive source of other nutrients. On the other hand, a high-priced food item may be a cheap source of those same nutrients. Seems like a simple concept, but even today, people fail to consider the nutritional value of the items that they buy.

nutritional-economy-of-food

When USDA conducted a study of more than 4,400 food items, they found no evidence that healthy foods are more expensive than less healthy foods. They also found that “when measured on the basis of edible weight or average portion size, vegetables and fruit are less expensive than most dairy, protein, and moderation foods”. Which shatters the myth that veggies and fruits are too expensive.

Cheap Food Is Always Attractive

Another fact that many fail to consider when talking about food prices is inflation. You keep hearing “gas used to be a quarter and a loaf of bread 5 cents! These new prices are insane!”. But there’s very little to that logic when people also weren’t making $54,000 a year (according to 2014 census) back then. The value of the dollar has dropped due to inflation nearly every year, which have made the prices for all the products rise. This rise in price has left a big gap between healthy and unhealthy foods.

Think about it. Let’s say a box of crappy cereal used to cost 50 cents at some point, while a box of higher quality cereal was $2.50. Due to the inflation, production and ingredient costs have increased for both. However, the cheaper product has cut every corner to get to the already low price of 50 cents. They use mass production, cheapest ingredients, low-grade packaging and they have deals with big companies. Basically, their motto is quantity over quality. While their costs might jump, it won’t be as significant. But let’s say it does jump and they also want to take advantage of the global price increase and they price their cereal at 65 cents now. Let’s take the healthier option now. Maybe they have deals with local farms to support the local economy, they already use the best quality ingredients and packaging costs are high as they use good quality plastic. Once inflation hits, that type of business will tend to be affected much more. But for argument’s sake, let’s say they managed to somewhat deal with it and they increased their product price to just $3.00.

A customer walks into Walmart to buy cereal for their kids. They see that everything in the store has gotten more expensive. They see that the crappy cereal is 65 cents now, which is still pretty darn cheap. However, the good quality cereal is now $3! The company essentially shot itself in the leg. Of course the customer will grab the cheaper cereal as it’s only 65 cents. “Clearly” that company wants to help them in hard times, while the other company is trying to rip them off.

But let’s take a look at the numbers again.

Crappy cereal $0.50 – > $0.65 = 30% increase in price.

Healthier cereal $2.50 -> $3.00 =  20% increase in price.

So, the healthier cereal had an actually smaller increase in price, however, the perceived cost to an average customer seems higher as it jumped from the number 2 to 3. Meanwhile, anything under a dollar and an increase of just a few cents seems lower. After all, 15 cents is less than 50. This is why those cheap quality products seem even more attractive during inflationary times. It becomes increasingly harder to justify paying more for healthier products.

However, if you keep in mind the nutritional economy mentioned above, the decision should be easier.

Ask The Right Question

why-is-cheap-food-so-cheap

This brings us to our third and final point. When you ask “why is the price of healthy food so damn high?” you are asking the wrong question. Instead, ask “why is the price of unhealthy food so damn cheap?”. Not only it isn’t cheap as shown in the examples above, it also harms your body in the long run. Sources of cheap calories such as white bread can be made with refined ingredients and contain harmful additives. They can rob your body of crucial nutrients and over time – harm your health. Don’t assume that more expensive or organic items are immediately better in every way, but also don’t assume that healthy products are actually more expensive. Your body is an incredibly powerful sports car, treat it like one and it will drive like one.

Looking for more awesomeness?

Join over 100,000 people who are getting awesome tips on how to eat healthier and live happier.

  • Megan Young

    Organic food is really a healthier one. It is worth the expense. Thanks for sharing this which foods give me the most bang for my buck.

    • A

      An organic apple is not healthier than a conventionally grown one. They both are the same fruit, one is treated with a small amount of “un natural” (but highly effective) pesticide, and the other is drenched in “natural” (but still toxic) pesticide.

      Organic is not the same as pesticide free. “Natural” pesticides are not as effective and so have to be used in MUCH higher amounts in order to have successful crops.

      Again, organic does NOT equal pesticide free.

  • Jena Bowman

    Most people don’t make $54,000 a year in the United States.